



Friday, March 13, 2020 Council Chamber, 2-1 University Hall *9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

*The Open Session will start at 10:30 AM.

OPENING SESSION

1. <u>Chair's Session</u> Kate Chisholm

- 1a. Call to Order and Confirmation of Quorum
- 1b. Approval of Open Session Agenda
 - Review of Consent Agenda
- 1c. Conflict of Interest Opportunity for Declaration
- 1d. Chair's Remarks

2. Report of the President

David Turpin

CONSENT AGENDA

3. Motion to Approve / Receive the Consent Agenda

Kate Chisholm

Action Items - to approve

3a. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of December 13, 2019

Report of the Governance Committee

3b. Governors of the University of Alberta Mandate and Roles Document

Report of the Learning, Research, and Student Experience Committee

3c. University Mandate Statement

Information Reports - to receive

Report of the University Secretary

- 3d. 2020-2021 Board of Governors' Calendar
- 3e. Action Arising from Previous Meetings completed / no action arising from December 13
- 3f. Report of the Audit and Risk Committee
- 3g. Report of the Finance and Property Committee
- 3h. Report of the Governance Committee
- 3i. Report of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee
- 3j. Report of the Investment Committee
- 3k. Report of the Learning, Research and Student Experience Committee
- 3l. Report of the Reputation and Public Affairs Committee

Regular Reports

- 3m Chancellor's Report
- 3n. Alumni Association
- 3o. Students' Union
- 3p. Graduate Students' Association
- 3g. Association of Academic Staff
- 3r. Non-Academic Staff Association
- 3s. General Faculties Council
- 3t. Board Chair Report

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Report of the Board Finance and Property Committee

4. Update: University of Alberta 2020-2021 Budget (no documents)

Charlene Butler David Turpin Steven Dew Gitta Kulczycki Andrew Sharman

CLOSING SESSION

5. Other Business Kate Chisholm

6. Adjournment Kate Chisholm

Presenter(s):

Kate Chisholm, QC Chair, Board of Governors

Charlene Butler Chair, Board Finance and Property Committee

Steven Dew Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Gitta Kulczycki Vice-President (Finance and Administration)
Andrew Sharman Vice- President (Facilities and Operations)

David Turpin President and Vice-Chancellor

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to: Erin Plume, Assistant Board Secretary, 780-492-9699, erin.plume@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Juli Zinken, Board Secretary and Manager of Board Services

University Governance <u>www.governance.ualberta.ca</u>