

# Board of Governors Open Session Minutes

Thursday, June 25, 2021 Electronic Vote

## **ATTENDEES:**

Voting Members:

Kate Chisholm Appointed Chair, General Public Zarina Bhambhani Appointed Member, Additional Member

Ayaz Bhanji Appointed Member, University of Alberta Alumni Association Representative

Charlene Butler Appointed Member, General Public

Anas Fassih Appointed Member, President, Graduate Students' Association

Bill Flanagan Appointed Member, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Alberta

Peggy Garritty Appointed Member, Chancellor Appointed Member, General Public

David Konrad Appointed Member, Undergraduate Board of Governors Representative

Rowan Ley Appointed Member, President, Students' Union

Janice MacKinnon Appointed Member, General Public Sett Policicchio Appointed Member, General Public

Margot Ross-Graham Appointed Member, University of Alberta Senate Representative

Rakesh Saraf Appointed Member, General Public

Andrei Tabirca Appointed Member, Non-Academic Staff Representative (NASA Appointee)
Robert Ryan Thompson Appointed Member, University of Alberta Alumni Association Representative

Paul Whittaker Appointed Member, General Public

Donna Wilson Appointed Member, Academic Staff Representative (AASUA Appointee)

Lillian Zenari Appointed Member, Additional Member

Non-Voting Officials Appointed by the President:

Brad Hamdon General Counsel and University Secretary
Andrew Sharman Vice-President (Facilities and Operations)
Catherine Swindlehurst Chief Strategy Officer (President's Office)

Juli Zinken Board Secretary and Manager of Board Services (University Governance)

Regrets:

Guy Bridgeman Appointed Vice-Chair, General Public Steven Dew Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Walter Dixon Interim Vice-President (Research and Innovation)

Daniel Eggert Appointed Member, General Public

Todd Gilchrist Vice-President (University Services and Finance)

Elan MacDonald Vice-President (External Relations)
Thomas (Tom) Ross Appointed Member, General Public

Dilini Vethanayagam Appointed Member, Academic Staff Representative (GFC Appointee)

# **ACTION ITEMS**

Report of the Finance and Property Committee

Presenter(s): Charlene Butler

1. Myer Horowitz Theatre Renovation Borrowing Resolution

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter(s): Andrew Sharman

*Purpose of the Proposal*: The proposal is before the committee seeking a resolution for borrowing funds from the Government of Alberta to finance a fulsome renewal of the Myer Horowitz Theatre.

### Discussion:

At the request of Mr Sharman and Rowan Ley, University of Alberta Students' Union (UASU) President, Charlene Butler, BFPC Chair, and Kate Chisholm, Chair of the Board of Governors, agreed to electronic votes of the committee and the Board of Governors to consider a borrowing resolution for the UASU's renovation of the Myer Horowitz theatre. At the February 25, 2021 BFPC meeting, Mr Sharman briefed BFPC on the project and the potential for an electronic vote, due to Government of Alberta funding deadlines but following an initial review of the proposal by Advanced Education.

An electronic vote of BFPC was held from June 23 to 25, 2021 and resulted in the recommendation of the motion to the Board of Governors. An electronic vote of the Board of Governors was subsequently conducted from June 25 to 29, 2021.

#### Motion:

THAT the Board of Governors, on the recommendation of the Board Finance and Property Committee:

- a) execute a borrowing resolution requesting approval of financing for the renewal of the Myer Horowitz Theatre for a total borrowing amount not to exceed fifteen million, one hundred, sixty five thousand dollars (\$15,165,000) in Canadian funds for a term of not more than twenty five (25) years at an interest rate of not more than 3.5%; and
- b) make an application to the Minister of Advanced Education for the required approval therein.

CARRIED