



Monday, November 28, 2011 Council Chamber, University Hall 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Samarasekera

OPENING SESSION Presenter/Proposer

1. Approval of the Agenda Indira

Samarasekera

2. Approval of the Minutes of October 31, 2011 Indira

3. Comments from the President (no documents)

. Comments from the President (no documents) Indira Samarasekera

ACTION ITEMS

4. New Members of GFC Indira

[Note: A motion to appoint may be proposed only by a statutory member of Samarasekera

GFC. A motion to *receive* may be proposed by <u>any</u> member of GFC.]

Motion: To Appoint New Members

Motion: To Receive New Members

5. Proposed Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching Procedure (UAPPOL) Carl Amrhein

Motion: To Approve Colleen Skidmore
Kathleen Brough

DISCUSSION ITEMS

6. Presentation from the Students' Union (SU): The SU's 2011-2014 Strategic Rory Tighe Plan and 2011-2012 Executive Goals Emerson Csorba

7. Presentation from the Graduate Students' Association (GSA): The GSA and Roy Coulthard Its Strategic Work Plan (2011-2012)

Tamara Korassa

8. Guest Speakers at Meetings of General Faculties Council (GFC) Carl Amrhein

9. Question Period Indira Samarasekera

[Question Period Policy provides that Question Period is one half-hour in length and comprises both oral and written questions. Question Period can be extended if there is a motion to do so (General Faculties Council Terms of Reference).]

9.1Q <u>Question</u> from GFC Graduate Student Member Andrew Rathbone Regarding Support for International Students Attending the University of Alberta

9.1R <u>Response</u> from the Vice-President (Facilities and Operations) and University of Alberta International (UAI) to the Question Posed by Mr Rathbone

[At the close of Question Period, questions will be invited on the following Information Items (Executive Committee Minutes; Reports of the Board of Governors to GFC; Nominating Committee/Replenishment Committee Reports.]

INFORMATION ITEMS

10. GFC Executive Committee Minutes of October 3, 2011

Carl Amrhein

(*Minutes for GFC Executive Committee meetings are available online at:* http://www.governance.ualberta.ca/en/GeneralFacultiesCouncil/ExecutiveCommittee.aspx)

11. Report of the Board of Governors of October 21, 2011

Bob Campenot

12. E-Mail Reports of the GFC Nominating Committee (no reports to date)

Ed Blackburn

13. E-Mail Report of the GFC Replenishment Committee (no reports to date)

Garry Bodnar

14. Information Items Forwarded to GFC Members Between Meetings

Indira Samarasekera

Message from the Provost Regarding the October 31, 2011 Meeting of General Faculties Council (GFC) - Presentation by Dr Gwyn Morgan (E-Mailed to Members on October 26, 2011)

15. Reports

Indira Samarasekera

If a GFC member has a question about a report, or feels that the report should be discussed by GFC, the GFC member should notify the Secretary to GFC, in writing, two business days or more before GFC meets so that the Committee Chair (or relevant expert) can be invited to attend. [GFC Terms of Reference Section 4 (Procedures)]

No reports to date.

CLOSING SESSION

16. Next meeting date: Monday, January 30, 2012

Indira Samarasekera

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Notes for members: This is the 381st meeting of General Faculties Council.

Meeting REGRETS to: Jon Buck, Governance Assistant, 780-492-4262, jon.buck@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Garry Bodnar, Director of GFC Services and Secretary to GFC, 780-492-4733,

garry.bodnar@ualberta.ca

Posted On Line for Members: November 22, 2011

University Governance: http://www.governance.ualberta.ca

Presenters/Proposers:

Carl Amrhein Provost and Vice-President (Academic) and Chair, GFC Executive

Committee

Ed Blackburn Chair, GFC Nominating Committee

Garry Bodnar Secretary to General Faculties Council and Coordinator, GFC

Replenishment Committee

Kathleen Brough Portfolio Initiatives Manager, Office of the Provost and Vice-President

(Academic)

Bob Campenot Academic Staff Representative on the Board of Governors

Emerson Csorba Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union

Tamara Korassa Vice-President (Labour) and Executive Vice-President, Graduate Students'

Association

Roy Coulthard President, Graduate Students' Association Indira Samarasekera President and Chair, General Faculties Council

Colleen Skidmore Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Academic)

Rory Tighe President, Students' Union