

General Faculties Council University Teaching Awards Committee (Adjudication) Approved Open Session Minutes

Thursday, April 02, 2020 Virtual meeting by phone/video 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

ATTENDEES:

Voting Members: Pierre Lemelin, Chair Jen Beverly, Vice-Chair Ramesh Bhambhani Aaron LaForest Cheryl Poth Alesha Reed Chris Reyns-Chikuma Ken Shields Tristan Sinnatamby

Regrets: Alison Cheung <u>Staff:</u> Laura Riley, Coordinator Yimmie Sonuga, GFC Secretary

OPENING SESSION

1. Approval of the Agenda

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Beverly / Bhambhani

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve the Agenda.

CARRIED

2. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of February 27, 2020

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Sheilds / Bhambhani

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approved the Minutes of February 27, 2020

CARRIED

3. Comments from the Chair (no documents)

The Chair welcomed members attending virtually, and by telephone, and thanked them for their service and preparation for the meeting.

The Chair reflected on the high-quality of the nominations received and the unique challenges the University community has been experiencing. He ended his comments by noting the importance of this adjudicative meeting in providing much needed good news to the academy.

Finally, the Chair led the committee through a review of the relevant Adjudication Guidelines. The review included an overview of conflict of interest related considerations.

The Chair then opened the adjudication portion of the meeting and the committee moved in camera to discuss the nominations. Following that discussion, the in camera session ended.

Motion I: Beverly / Reed

THAT the committee move in camera to discuss the nominations.

Motion II: Reed / Sinnatamby

THAT the committee end the in camera session.

CARRIED

CARRIED

ACTION ITEMS

4. Adjudication of the 2020 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Presenter(s): Pierre Lemelin

Motion: Sinnatamby / Reyns-Chikuma

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2020 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching to:

Samer Adeeb Heather Coleman Tami Oliphant

CARRIED

5. Adjudication of the 2020 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Presenter(s): Pierre Lemelin

Motion: Bhambhani / Reed

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2020 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Alexandra Komrakova Lauren Sulz

CARRIED

6. Adjudication of the 2020 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Presenter(s): Pierre Lemelin

Motion: Reyns-Chikuma / Poth

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2020 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Heather Bruce Sandipan Pramanik Lin Snelling Tian Tang Janet Wesselius

CARRIED

7. Adjudication of the 2020 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Presenter(s): Pierre Lemelin

Motion: Shields / Poth

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2019 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Karsten Loepelmann Kuo-Chan Sun

CARRIED

8. Adjudication of the 2020 Teaching Unit Award

Presenter(s): Pierre Lemelin

Motion: Reyns-Chikuma / LaForest

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2020 Teaching Unit Award to:

HPE MEd Cohort Teaching Unit

CARRIED

CLOSING SESSION

9. The Chair adjourned the meeting at 4:35 pm.