

General Faculties Council University Teaching Awards Committee (Adjudication) Approved Open Session Minutes

Tuesday, April 09, 2019 2-15 South Academic Building (SAB) 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

ATTENDEES:

Voting Members: Pierre Lemelin, Chair Jen Beverly Ramesh Bhambhani Alison Cheung Ryan Dunch Gautam Gaur Cheryl Poth Heather Raymond Janet Yao

<u>Staff:</u> Laura Riley, Coordinator Meg Brolley, GFC Secretary

OPENING SESSION

1. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file

Motion: Bhambhani/Poth

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve the agenda

CARRIED

2. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of February 28, 2019

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file

Motion: Dunch/Yao

THAT GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve the Minutes of February 28, 2019

CARRIED

3. Comments from the Chair (no documents)

The Chair welcomed members and thanked them for their service and preparation for the meeting, noting that all of the nominations were excellent.

Members reviewed the Adjudication Guidelines including consideration of conflict of interest.

Motion: Dunch/Bhambhani

THAT the committee move in camera to discuss the nominations.

Motion: Dunch/Yao

THAT the committee end the in camera.

CARRIED

CARRIED

ACTION ITEMS

4. Adjudication of the 2019 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Motion: Dunch/Yao

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2019 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Alexander Gainer Rachel Prusko

CARRIED

5. Adjudication of the 2019 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Motion: Beverly/Cheung

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2019 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Hao Liang Anna Lund

CARRIED

6. Adjudication of the 2019 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Motion: Bhambhani/Raymond

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2019 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Greg Anderson Judy Davidson Michael Dyck Neil Haave David Kennedy

CARRIED

7. Adjudication of the 2019 Teaching Unit Award

Motion: Yao/Dunch

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2019 Teaching Unit Award to:

U of A Range Team Instructors: Barry Irving, Edward Bork, Lisa Raatz, Cameron Carlyle (Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences)

CARRIED

8. Adjudication of the 2019 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Motion: Bhambhani/Beverly

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2019 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching to:

Alexander Fidyk Diane Kunyk

CARRIED

CLOSING SESSION

9. The Chair adjourned the meeting at 4:05 pm