

General Faculties Council University Teaching Awards Committee (Adjudication) Approved Open Session Minutes

Friday, April 06, 2018 3-07 South Academic Building (SAB) 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

## ATTENDEES:

Voting Members: Pierre Lemelin, Chair Jen Beverly Destanee Charrois Ryan Dunch Marianne Morris Cheryl Poth Heather Raymond Zizhao (Finn) Wang

<u>Regrets:</u> Robin Everall

<u>Staff:</u> Laura Riley, Coordinator Meg Brolley, GFC Secretary

#### **OPENING SESSION**

1. Approval of the Agenda

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file

Motion: Raymond/Wang

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve the agenda

CARRIED

# 2. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of March 2, 2018

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file

## Motion: Dunch/Charrois

THAT GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve the Minutes of March 2, 2018

CARRIED

3. Comments from the Chair (no documents)

The Chair welcomed members and thanked them for their service.

Members discussed processes including consideration of arms length of peer support letters.

Motion: Dunch/Wang

THAT the committee move into closed session to discuss the nominations.

Motion: Raymond/Dunch

THAT the closed sesson end.

## ACTION ITEMS

4. Adjudication of the 2018 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Raymond/Poth

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2018 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

René Belland Laura Schechter David Vergote

CARRIED

CARRIED

CARRIED

#### 5. Adjudication of the 2018 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Dunch/Wang

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2018 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Carlos Cruz-Noguez Natalie Van Deusen

CARRIED

6. Adjudication of the 2018 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

#### Motion: Beverly/Charrois

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2018 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to:

Vincent Bouchard Jana Grekul Ashwin Iyer Angela Schroeder

CARRIED

# 7. Adjudication of the 2018 Teaching Unit Award

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

## Motion: Poth/Charrois

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC), under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2018 Teaching Unit Award to:

Mountain Studies (Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation)

## 8. Adjudication of the 2018 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Charrois/Wang

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, award the 2018 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching to:

Catherine Adams Valentina Galvani Leonard Ratzlaff

CARRIED

CARRIED

## **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

#### 9. <u>Question Period</u>

There were no questions

# **INFORMATION REPORTS**

# 10. Items Approved by the Committee by E-Mail Ballots (non-debatable)

There were no items.

# 11. Information Items Forwarded to Committee Members Between Meetings

There were no items.

# **CLOSING SESSION**

12. Adjournment

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m.