

General Faculties Council

Undergraduate Teaching Awards Committee Approved Open Session Minutes

Friday, April 12, 2013 3-07 South Academic Building 12:00 PM – 3:30PM

ATTENDEES:

Voting Members:

Elisabeth Le Academic Staff Member and Chair, GFC Undergraduate Teaching Awards

Committee

Brenda Cameron Academic Staff Member
Uwe Hacke Academic Staff Member
Melissa Hartley Academic Staff Member

Jenna Lee Undergraduate Student-at-large Nicholas Monfries Undergraduate Student-at-large

Lorne Parker Alumni Member

Lorenz Sigurdson Academic Staff Member
Minhao Zeng Graduate Student-at-large

Presenter:

Elisabeth Le Chair, GFC Undergraduate Teaching Awards Committee

Staff:

Garry Bodnar Coordinator, GFC Undergraduate Teaching Awards Committee

Andrea Patrick Scribe

OPENING SESSION

Approval of the Agenda

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Cameron/Parker

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Teaching Awards Committee approve the Agenda.

CARRIED

2. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of March 8, 2013

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Lee/Monfries

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Teaching Awards Committee approve the Minutes of March 8, 2013.

CARRIED

3. Comments from the Chair

Dr Le commented on a number of relevant issues to members.

ACTION ITEMS

4. Adjudication of the 2013 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Elisabeth Le, Chair, GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC)

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve under delegated authority from General Faculties Council the 2013 Rutherford Award(s) for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Discussion:

Members agreed to move *in camera* for the adjudication of the 2013 Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

There was a lengthy discussion in camera.

The Committee agreed to move ex camera.

Motion: Hartley/Lee

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) award 2013 Rutherford Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to the following individuals:

Alex Brown (Faculty of Science)
Christine Hughes (Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences)
John Nychka (Faculty of Engineering)
Carla Peck (Faculty of Education)

CARRIED

5. Adjudication of the 2013 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Elisabeth Le, Chair, GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC)

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve under delegated authority from General Faculties Council the 2013 William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Discussion:

Page 3

Members agreed to move *in camera* for the adjudication of the 2013 William Hardy Alexander Award(s) for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

There was a lengthy discussion in camera.

The Committee agreed to move ex camera.

Motion: Cameron/Monfries

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) award 2013 William Hardy Alexander Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to the following individuals:

Enver Osmanagic (Faculty of Science) Kristine Nutting (Augustana Faculty)

CARRIED

6. <u>Adjudication of the 2013 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching</u>

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Elisabeth Le, Chair, GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC)

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve under delegated authority from General Faculties Council the 2013 Provost's Award(s) for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Discussion:

Members agreed to move *in camera* for the adjudication of the 2013 Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

There was a lengthy discussion in camera.

The Committee agreed to move ex camera.

Motion: Parker/Hacke

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) award 2013 Provost's Awards for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to the following individuals:

Cheryl Poth (Faculty of Education)
Carrie Smith-Prei (Faculty of Arts)

Martin J. Zuidhof (Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences)

CARRIED

7. Adjudication of the 2013 Teaching Unit Award

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Elisabeth Le, Chair, GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC)

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve under delegated authority from General Faculties Council the 2013 Teaching Unit Award.

Discussion:

Members agreed to move *in camera* for the adjudication of the 2013 Teaching Unit Award.

There was a discussion in camera.

The Committee agreed to move ex camera.

Motion: Lee/Hacke

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) award the 2013 Teaching Unit Award to:

Doris Audet and David G. Larson, Department of Science, Augustana Faculty Field Studies in Tropical Ecology

CARRIED

8. Adjudication of the 2013 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Elisabeth Le, Chair, GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC)

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve under delegated authority from General Faculties Council the 2013 Award(s) for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.

Discussion:

Members agreed to move *in camera* for the adjudication of the 2013 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.

There was a lengthy discussion in camera.

The Committee agreed to move ex camera.

Motion: Sigurdson/Cameron

THAT the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) award the 2013 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching to:

Carol A. Boliek (Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine) Robert Campbell (Faculty of Science) Jerrold Kachur (Faculty of Education)

CARRIED

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Debrief

There were no documents.

Presenter: Elisabeth Le, Chair, GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC)

Purpose of the Discussion: For discussion/information.

Discussion:

Dr Le thanked members for their efforts towards adjudicating the University's 2013 teaching awards and reminded members of the GFC UTAC meeting scheduled on June 14, 2013.

Dr Le enquired if the pace of the meeting was appropriate and commented on the quality of the applicants. She added that topics for discussion at the next meeting would include Executive Summaries, signatures, and Universal Student Ratings of Instruction (USRI) tables for inclusion with the awards nomination packages and other procedural items.

During the ensuing discussion, members expressed a number of comments, including, but not limited to: the use of the member ranking sheet; the awards deadline in relation to Reading Week; standardizing USRI reports; including reference to the USRI report within the nomination checklist; and the implications of incomplete nomination packages.

Mr Bodnar stated that obtaining members' ranking sheets before the adjudication meeting is of benefit and suggested that Ms Laura Connell, Acting Faculty Awards Facilitator, Academic Awards and Ceremonies Office, Office of the Registrar, be present at the June 14, 2013 meeting to discuss some of the procedural concerns.

Dr Le thanked student members for their participation.

10. Question Period

There were no questions.

INFORMATION REPORTS

11. Items Approved by the Committee by E-Mail Ballots

There were no items.

Information Items Forwarded to Committee Members Between Meetings

There were no items.

CLOSING SESSION

13. Adjournment

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 2:35 pm.