General Faculties Council Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee Approved Open Session Minutes

Tuesday, June 22, 2021 Zoom Virtual Meeting 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

ATTENDEES:

Frank Robinson, Chair Gary Eitzen Abbie Murison Paul Myers Nicole Simoko non-voting: Fiona Halbert Jennifer Jennax Helen Vallianatos **REGRETS:**

Madeleine Beaulieu Brad Hamdon Kate Peters

Staff:

Heather Richholt, Coordinator

OPENING SESSION

1. Approval of the Agenda

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter(s): Frank Robinson, Chair of GFC Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee (UABC)

Motion: Myers/Murison

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee approve the Agenda.

CARRIED

2. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of May 4, 2021

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter(s): Frank Robinson, Chair of UABC

Motion: Murison/Myers

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee approve the Open Session Minutes of May 4, 2021.

CARRIED

3. Comments from the Chair (no documents)

Presenter(s): Frank Robinson, Chair of UABC

Discussion:

The Chair noted that this was the final meeting of the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee (UABC) as GFC had approved the disbanding of the committee at its meeting of June 7, 2021. He thanked members for their work and asked the committee coordinator to let members know about next steps.

Ms Richholt echoed the Chair's thanks to all and encouraged members to put their names forward to serve in another capacity. She noted that the final minutes would be sent out for e-vote approval before the committee was disbanded on July 1, 2021.

ACTION ITEMS

4. New Annually Funded Financial Supports for Approval

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter(s): Fiona Halbert, Assistant Registrar, Student Financial Support; Allen Wolfe, Specialist, Student Financial Support, Office of the Registrar; Shari Klassen, Specialist, Student Financial Support, Office of the Registrar

Discussion:

Members asked questions and expressed comments including but not limited to:

- how students demonstrated financial need through the application process;
- the administrative process for allocating open funding to Faculties according to student enrollment numbers:
- precedent setting language regarding equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) in award terms;
- levels of donor identification; and
- how the Office of the Registrar would assess Faculty or Department-specific "demonstrated innovation" or "demonstrated intent".

Members also discussed the term "honey pot" and its use in an award title. Members were concerned about the slang use of the term and asked that the donor revisit the name. The award was removed from the package.

Motion: Myers/Murison

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee approve, with delegated authority from General Faculties Council, the following new annually funded Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries, as submitted by Student Financial Support and as set forth in Attachment 1, as amended, to be effective immediately:

- Ray Protti Scholarship in Economics
- Dr. Xizhong Li and Xiaoming Da Award
- Computing Science Parental Award
- Ryan Henderson Memorial Entrance Award
- RioCan Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Award
- MacDonald Family Entrance Award in Engineering
- Maerin Investment Award in Arts
- Alberta Seed Growers Association Scholarship
- Williams Engineering Award in Engineering
- Bruce Beingessner Award in Business
- Margaret Wilson Memorial Award in Dental Hygiene
- Doug and Irene MacFarlane Scholarship in Pharmacy
- Robert and Gloria Herzog Scholarship in Honors Accounting
- International Student Athletics Award

CARRIED

5. New Endowed Financial Supports for Approval

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter(s): Fiona Halbert, Assistant Registrar, Student Financial Support; Allen Wolfe, Specialist, Student

Financial Support, Office of the Registrar; Shari Klassen, Specialist, Student Financial Support, Office of the Registrar

Discussion:

Members discussed the award terms "first generation" and "Canadian", donor intent, and inclusivity.

Ms Klassen noted that "Canadian" encompassed Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and refugees.

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee approve, with delegated authority from General Faculties Council, the following new endowed Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries, as submitted by Student Financial Support and as set forth in Attachment 1, as amended, to be effective immediately:

- Catherine J Lesniak Memorial Bursary for Nursing Students
- Gauthier and Tran Bursary in Medicine
- Joe and Barb Stolee Family Award
- Jason Wong and Yim Ning Yeung Entrance Award in Business
- Marilyn June Ens Memorial Award in Nursing
- Van Tran Memorial Award
- Barry Sjolie QC Award in Administrative Law
- Postgraduate Education Award for Resident Leadership and Advocacy

CARRIED

6. Amended Financial Supports for Approval

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter(s): Fiona Halbert, Assistant Registrar, Student Financial Support; Allen Wolfe, Specialist, Student Financial Support, Office of the Registrar; Shari Klassen, Specialist, Student Financial Support, Office of the Registrar

Discussion:

Members discussed:

- the Faculties in the College of Health Sciences;
- the waning frequency of travel competitions;
- broadening terms to ensure that funds could be awarded on a regular basis;
- the rapid process improvement (RPI) changes to ensure alignment with donor intent; and
- the satisfactory grade point average (GPA) of 2.0.

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee approve, with delegated authority from General Faculties Council, the following amended Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries, as submitted by Student Financial Support and as set forth in Attachment 1, to be effective immediately:

- Madsen and Randall Bursary in Biochemistry
- McIvor Kent Bursary in Professional Health Services
- TG Abraham Memorial Bursary in Engineering
- Kerry Dyte QC Access Bursary
- McCarthy Tétrault Student Bursary
- Law Class of 1979 Memorial Bursary
- Edward Shoctor Bursary in Law
- Harry A Friedman Memorial Scholarship
- Gwendolen M, Muriel A and Bennett W Clarke Scholarship in English Literature
- Schlumberger Design Competition Award
- Ledcor Undergraduate Scholarships in Construction Engineering and Management
- Richard Eaton Singers Scholarship in Voice
- FT Jenner Memorial Prize in Canadian Studies

- Cyril G Wates Memorial Prize
- Estella Stelter Award in Dental Hygiene

CARRIED

DISCUSSION ITEMS

7. Question Period (no documents)

There were no questions but a member did note thanks to the Chair for his time and work with the committee.

INFORMATION REPORTS

- 8. <u>Items Approved by the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee by E-mail Ballots</u> There were no items.
- 9. <u>Information Items Forwarded to Committee Members Between Meetings</u> There were no items.

CLOSING SESSION

10. Adjournment

- Next meeting of GFC: September 20, 2021

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 2:50 p.m.