

General Faculties Council

Undergraduate Awards & Scholarship Committee Approved Open Session Minutes

Wednesday, April 04, 2012 2-11, UHALL 2:15 PM – 4:00 PM

ATTENDEES:

Voting Members:	
Derek Sellman Jana Rieger	Acting Chair, GFC UASC, Academic Staff Member at-large Academic Staff
Katalin Bimbo	Academic Staff
Behrooz Nowrouzian	Academic Staff
Jess Ann Gordon	Undergraduate at-large
Non-Voting Resource Members:	
Rachel de Leon	Dean of Students (delegate)
Perry Thorbourne	Assistant Registrar, Student Awards
Kelly Spencer	Senior Development Officer, Office of Development
Regrets:	
William Street	Chair, GFC UASC, Cross-Representative from the GFC Academic Standards Committee
Hala Moraich	Undergraduate at-large
Presenters:	
Derek Sellman	Acting Chair, GFC UASC
Heather Dyck	Development Coordinator, Student Awards
Staff:	
Iva Spence	Coordinator, GFC Undergraduate Awards & Scholarship Committee
OPENING SESSION	

OPENING SESSION

1. Approval of the Agenda

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Nowrouzian/Gordon

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve the Agenda.

CARRIED

2. <u>Approval of the Open Session Minutes of February 14, 2012</u>

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Gordon/Bimbo

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve the Minutes of February 14, 2012.

CARRIED

3. Comments from the Vice-Chair

The Vice-Chair provided information of general interest to members from the *Source* (a news briefing document provided by the Provost and Vice-President (Academic) Office).

ACTION ITEMS

4. New Undergraduate Student Awards and Scholarships For Approval (April 10, 2012)

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Heather Dyck, Development Coordinator, Student Awards

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve new undergraduate awards and scholarships.

New Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships for Approval (April 10, 2012)

- 1. Augustana Alumni Leadership Award
- 2. Canada Ticket Printing Award in Computing Science
- 3. Cheryl & Norma Harbottle Scholarship
- 4. Ken and Bettie Ditzler Award for Aboriginal Students
- 5. Cecile M Schultz Award in Mediation and Communication Excellence

6. Roger S Smith Undergraduate Student Research Award in the Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences

- 7. Precision Drilling Scholarship in Engineering
- 8. Marilyn Moysa Award in Health Law
- 9. Echoridge Educational Foundation Animal Biology Scholarship
- 10. Echoridge Educational Foundation Physiology and Developmental Biology Scholarship

Discussion: Ms Dyck noted that the heading, "Donor Description," was changed to "Funded by." This change now aligns the language with the information posted on the awards website. Members questioned the amount of information contained in the "Funded by" heading for award number 8. Ms Dyck noted that memorial awards include more information about the individual, adding to the idea of the memorial.

A few editorial changes were noted by Committee members.

Motion: Gordon/Bimbo

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council new undergraduate awards and scholarships, as set forth in Attachment 2 and as amended, to be effective immediately.

CARRIED

5. <u>Approval of Amendments to Existing Undergraduate Student Awards and Scholarships (April 10, 2012)</u>

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Heather Dyck, Development Coordinator, Student Awards

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve amendments to existing undergraduate student awards.

Existing Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships for Approval (April 10, 2012)

- 1. Babcia Bursary in Law
- 2. Garry Leithead Memorial Scholarship in Forestry
- 3. IMAU-UofA (ALES) Award
- 4. ZFU-UofA (ALES) Award
- 5. Mrs. Kathe & Mr. Siegfried Klotsche Scholarship in German
- 6. AFPA Arden Rytz Memorial Leadership Award in Forestry
- 7. Dr Arturo Sanchez-Azofeifa & Dr Christine Orosz Scholarship in Science

Discussion: A few editorial changes were noted by the Committee; in addition, there was discussion surrounding award number 2 and 6.

Award number 2 and 6: With the proposed change in criteria to award the scholarship to a first year student rather than a fourth year student, the Committee suggested that "involvement in community, <u>professional or university activities</u>" be replaced by "involvement in community, <u>and/or extracurricular activities</u>." Following the meeting Ms Dyck confirmed that the change suggested by the Committee was appropriate.

Motion: Rieger/Bimbo

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council amendments to existing awards, as set forth in Attachment 2 and as amended, to be effective immediately.

CARRIED

DISCUSSION ITEMS

6. <u>Question Period</u>

There were no items.

INFORMATION REPORTS

7. <u>Items Approved by the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee by E-mail Ballots</u>

There were no items.

8. Information Items Forwarded to Committee Members Between Meetings

There were no items.

CLOSING SESSION

9. Adjournment

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 2:45 PM

R:\GO05 General Faculties Council - Committees\UND\11-12\AP-10\Minutes\Minutes.Docx