

General Faculties Council Undergraduate Awards & Scholarship Committee FINAL Minutes

Tuesday, June 14, 2011 3-15, UHALL 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

ATTENDEES:

William Street - Chair, Jana Rieger, Katalin Bimbo, Behrooz Nowrouzian, Karthik Shankar, Hala Moraich, Cheryl Luchkow (delegate), Perry Thorbourne, and Iva Spence (Coordinator & Scribe)

PRESENTERS AND GUESTS:

William Street, Chair, GFC UASC Cheryl Luchkow, Assistant Dean of Students, Dean of Students Heather Dyck, Development Coordinator, Student Awards

OPENING SESSION

1. Approval of the Agenda

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Nowrouzian/Rieger

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve the Agenda.

CARRIED

2. Approval of the Regular Session Minutes of April 12, 2011

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Motion: Rieger/Shankar

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve the Regular Session Minutes of April 12, 2011.

CARRIED

3. <u>Comments from the Chair (no documents)</u>

The Chair welcomed the new undergraduate student member to the Committee and reported on a number of items of interest to members.

ACTION ITEMS

4. <u>New Undergraduate University Bursaries and Emergency Funding (UBEF) Bursary For Approval</u> (June 14, 2011) Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Cheryl Luchkow, Assistant Dean of Students, Dean of Students

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve a new undergraduate bursary.

New University Bursaries and Emergency Funding (UBEF) Bursaries for approval (June 14, 2011) 1. William McKendrick McCallum Bursary

Discussion: The Committee questioned the description in the last sentence of the bursary criteria. If the bursary is renewable the Committee felt the description should read *This bursary is renewable in second "and"* [rather than or] *third year on demonstration of continued financial need.* [Subsequent to the meeting the University Bursaries and Emergency Funding Office confirmed that the change proposed by UASC was correct.]

Motion: Bimbo/Moraich

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council, a new undergraduate bursary, as set forth in Attachment 2 and as amended, to be effective immediately.

CARRIED

5. New Undergraduate Student Awards and Scholarships For Approval (June 14, 2011)

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Heather Dyck, Development Coordinator, Student Awards

Purpose of the Proposal: Approve new undergraduate awards and scholarships

New Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships for Approval (June 14, 2011)

- 1. Charles Els/CRDHA Prize in Smoking Cessation
- 2. Mel Lerohl Policy Prize
- 3. Marion Vosahlo Memorial Bursary
- 4. West Fraser Timber Co Ltd Forestry Award
- 5. Kristy Beinart Memorial Scholarship
- 6. Friends of the World Cup of Wrestling Society and Wrestling Alumni Award
- 7. Friends of the World Cup of Wrestling Society and Wrestling Alumni Scholarship
- 8. Friends of the World Cup of Wrestling Society Award
- 9. Friends of the World Cup of Wrestling Society Scholarship
- 10. Kay Anderson Entrance Bursary for Aboriginal Students
- 11. Zita and Jack Rosen Award
- 12. Bobby Dosanj Memorial Award
- 13. Jurassic Forest Award in Vertebrate Paleontology
- 14. Joyce Cutts & Eunice Mattson Memorial Award
- 15. Agriculture Class of 1961 Bar None Transfer Leadership Scholarship
- 16. Elizabeth Jane Hodkinson Scholarship
- 17. Pioneer Teacher Scholarship

Discussion: For Award 15 (Agriculture Class of 1961 Bar None Transfer Leadership Scholarship) the Committee questioned the criteria relating to a "minimum GPA of 3.0" since Award 15 was titled scholarship rather than award. [Subsequent to the meeting the Awards Office confirmed that as noted by the Committee the criteria should instead state "superior academic achievement" since this is a scholarship.]

A number of editorial amendments were made to the other awards.

Motion: Bimbo/Moraich

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council new undergraduate awards and scholarships, as set forth in Attachment 2 and as amended, to be effective immediately.

CARRIED

6. <u>Amendments to Existing Undergraduate Student Awards and Scholarships for Approval (June 14, 2011)</u>

Materials before members are contained in the official meeting file.

Presenter: Heather Dyck, Development Coordinator, Student Awards

Purpose of the Proposal: To approve amendments to existing undergraduate awards and scholarships.

Existing Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships for Approval (June 14, 2011)

- 1. MacHardy-Stephanson Award in Agricultural Sciences
- 2. Terrance O'Connor Award in Drama
- 3. University of Alberta Mexico Select High School Scholarship
- 4. University of Alberta India Select High School Scholarship
- 5. University of Alberta China Select High School Scholarship
- 6. Cenovus Energy Chemical Engineering Scholarship
- 7. Cenovus Energy Environmental Sciences Scholarship
- 8. Cenovus Energy Mechanical Engineering Scholarship
- 9. University of Alberta USA Select High School Scholarship
- 10. Cenovus Energy Civil and Environmental Engineering Scholarship
- 11. Cenovus Energy Petroleum Engineering Scholarship
- 12. Samuel James and Augusta Kreye Award in Art & Design
- 13. Augustana Faculty Fine Arts Award in Choral
- 14. Augustana Faculty Fine Arts Award in Drama
- 15. Augustana Faculty Fine Arts Award in Keyboard
- 16. Augustana Faculty Fine Arts Award in Studio Art
- 17. Augustana Faculty Fine Arts Award in Vocal Music

Discussion: Awards numbered 13 to 17 were removed from the package of awards for consideration by GFC UASC. The Committee noted that continuing awards are based on performance already demonstrated and not on criteria which relies on future performance. It appeared to the Committee that the awards were being used more as a means of recruiting and keeping students in Faculty programs rather than being based on performance in the previous academic year. The Committee asked the Awards Office to work with Augustana Faculty to establish criteria that relies on past rather than future performance.

A number of editorial amendments were made to the other awards.

Motion: Shankar/Bimbo

THAT the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee approve, under delegated authority from General Faculties Council amendments to existing undergraduate awards and scholarships, as set forth in Attachment 2 and as amended, to be effective immediately.

CARRIED

Awards numbered 1 to 12 were approved by the Committee.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

7. <u>Question Period</u>

There were no items.

INFORMATION ITEMS

8. Items Approved by the GFC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee by E-mail Ballots (non-debatable)

April 27, 2011 – Email vote for election of Vice-Chair of GFC UASC

9. Information Items Forwarded to Committee Members Between Meetings

April 12, 2011 – Call for Nominations of Vice-Chair of GFC UASC April 29, 2011 – Dr Derek Sellman elected as Vice-Chair of GFC UASC for a term ending June 30, 2012

CLOSING SESSION

10. Adjournment

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 3:00 PM.