

OPENING SESSION

Monday, October 15, 2018 2-31 South Academic Building (SAB) 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

1.	Approval of the Agenda	David Turpin
2.	Approval of the Open Session Minutes of September 10, 2018	David Turpin
3.	Comments from the Chair (no documents)	David Turpin
ACTIO	<u>ON ITEMS</u>	
4.	Proposed Changes to Composition of Faculty Council, Alberta School of Business	Kyle Murray
	Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority	
5.	Parchment for a new Joint Doctoral Program with Technical University of Munich (Germany)("TUM") and the Faculty of Science	Melissa Padfield
	Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority	
6.	2019-2020 Academic Schedule	Melissa Padfield
	Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority	
DISC	JSSION ITEMS	
7.	Senate ad hoc Committee on Honorary Degrees (no documents)	Douglas Stollery
8.	Board of Governors / GFC Summit (no documents)	David Turpin
9.	Waiver of Advertising Requirements Report to General Faculties Council	Steven Dew
<u>EARL</u>	Y CONSULTATION	
10.	GFC University Teaching Committee - draft Terms of Reference	Pierre Lemelin
11.	Workplace Impairment Policy	Wayne Patterson
<u>ACTIO</u>	ON ITEMS	
12.	Draft Agenda for the Next Meeting of General Faculties Council	David Turpin
	Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority	

This agenda and its corresponding attachments are transitory records. University Governance is the official copy holder for files of the Board of Governors, GFC, and their standing committees. Members are instructed to destroy this material following the meeting.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

13. Question Period

INFORMATION REPORTS

- 14. Items Approved by the GFC Executive Committee by email ballots no items to date
- 15. Information Items Forwarded to GFC Executive Committee between Meetings no items to date

CLOSING SESSION

- 16. Next Meeting: November 19, 2018
- 17. Next General Faculties Council Meeting: October 22, 2018

Presenter(s):

David Turpin	President and Vice-Chancellor, Chair, GFC Executive Committee
Kyle Murray	Vice Dean, Alberta School of Business
Melissa Padfield	Acting Vice-Provost and University Registrar
Douglas Stollery	Chancellor
Steven Dew	Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Pierre Lemelin	Chair, GFC University Teaching Awards Committee
Wayne Patterson	Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Human Resources)

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to:	Heather Richholt, 780-492-1937, richholt@ulberta.ca
Prepared by:	Meg Brolley, GFC Secretary
University Governance	www.governance.ualberta.ca

David Turpin