

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 2-31 South Academic Building (SAB) 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

# **OPENING SESSION**

1.	Approval of the Agenda	Steven Dew	
2.	Approval of the Open Session Minutes of February 14, 2018	Steven Dew	
3.	Comments from the Chair (no documents)	Steven Dew	
ACTION ITEMS			
4.	Proposal from the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research for a new course-based Master of Arts in Policy Studies in the Department of Political Science	Deborah Burshtyn Jared Wesley Lois Harder	
	Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority		
5.	Proposal from the Faculty of Graduate Studies & Research for a new combined Master of Business Administration/Doctor of Pharmacy (MBA/PharmD) program, the Faculty of Business and the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences	Deborah Burshtyn Dion Brocks Michael Maier	
	Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority		
6.	Proposed Name Change of the Master of Arts program in Humanities Computing to Digital Humanities	Deborah Burshtyn Maureen Engel	
	Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority		
7.	Proposal from the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research to terminate the Post Graduate Diploma in Health Promotion	Deborah Burshtyn Jeffrey Johnson	
	Motion: To Recommend General Faculties Council Approval		
8.	Amendment to the Augustana Campus Long Range Development Plan  Motion: To Recommend Board of Governors Approval	Emily Ball Phil Rinn	
	• •		

## **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

9.	Update on the Budget (no documents)	Gitta Kulczycki
		Steven Dew

10. Question Period Steven Dew

## **INFORMATION REPORTS**

11. Items Approved by GFC Academic Planning Committee by e-mail

#### **Ballots**

12. Information Items Forwarded to Committee Members Between Meetings

#### **CLOSING SESSION**

13. Next meeting: March 28, 2018

14. Next General Faculties Council Meeting: March 19, 2018

Presenter(s):

Steven Dew Provost and Vice-President (Academic), Chair, GFC Academic Planning

Committee

Deborah Burshtyn Vice Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research

Jared Wesley Professor, Department of Political Science
Lois Harder Chair, Department of Political Science

Dion Brocks

Associate Dean (Undergraduate Student Affairs), Faculty of Pharmacy and

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Michael Maier Associate Dean, MBA Program, Faculty of Business

Maureen Engel Director, Humanities Computing

Jeffrey Johnson Associate Dean, Education, School of Public Health

Emily Ball Community Relations Officer, Government and Community Relations

Phil Rinn Manager, Campus Planning and Development, Office of the University

Architect

Gitta Kulczycki Vice-President (Finance and Administration)

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to: Heather Richholt, 780-492-1937, richholt@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Meg Brolley, Coordinator, GFC Academic Planning Committee

University Governance www.governance.ualberta.ca