

The following Motion and Documents were considered by the Board of Governors by electronic vote on November 14, 2012:

Agenda Title: Board Committee Appointments

APPROVED MOTION: THAT the Board of Governors, on the recommendation of the Board Chair, Mr Douglas Goss, approve the appointment of Mr Gordon Clanachan as an External Member of the Board Audit Committee, effective November 23, 2012, as set forth in Attachment 1 to the agenda documentation.

Final Item: 1



Item No. 1

OUTLINE OF ISSUE

Agenda Title: Board Committee Appointments

Motion: THAT the Board of Governors, on the recommendation of the Board Chair, Mr Douglas Goss, approve the appointment of Mr Gordon Clanachan as an External Member of the Board Audit Committee, effective November 23, 2012, as set forth in Attachment 1 to the agenda documentation.

ltem

Action Requested	Approval Recommendation Discussion/Advice Information
Proposed by	Mr Douglas Goss, Chair, Board of Governors
Presenter	Douglas Goss, Board Chair; Marion Haggarty-France, University Secretary
Subject	Appointment to Board Audit Committee

Details

Chair of the Board of Governors
To consider the appointment of Mr Gordon Clanachan to the Board Audit
Committee.
To ensure that an external member to the Board members has been
appointed to the Committee and that the at the Committees' membership
reflects the Terms of Reference.
Replaces the current 2012-2013 Committee Membership List approved
at the October 19, 2012 Board meeting.
Effective upon approval.
n/a
n/a
The Board of Governors reviews the recommendations of the Board
Chair for appointments to the Board Standing Committees. Given the
end of the term for one public member, the committee appointment of Mr
Clanachan to the Board Audit Committee as an external member is
required

Alignment/Compliance

Alignment with Guiding	Dare to Discover, Comprehensive Institutional Plan
Documents	
Compliance with Legislation,	The Board's General Terms of Reference for Board Standing
Policy and/or Procedure	Committees, Sections 3 and 4 state:
Relevant to the Proposal	
(please <u>quote</u> legislation and	3. A member of a Committee shall be appointed by the Board for a term
include identifying section	commencing on a date selected by the Board and expiring on the
numbers)	earliest of:
	(i) the offective date of the reciprotion of that members from the
	(i) the effective date of the resignation of that member from the Board;
	(ii) the effective date of the resignation of that member from that
	Committee;
	(iii) a date selected by the Board;
	(iv) the expiry date of the term of the appointment of a non-Board member to the Committee; and
	(v) the effective date of a general appointment of all members to
	that committee (ordinarily the first Board meeting in June).
	A member of a Committee is eligible to be reappointed to that



For the Meeting of November 14, 2012

Item No. 1

Committee.
4. There shall be members of each Committee who are Board members; non-Board members may be drawn from the University Senate and elsewhere within the University or from the community as the Board considers may be appropriate or as may be provided in the Committee's terms of reference. Where the terms of reference of a Committee provide for a number of members in excess of those specifically required to be represented on the Committee, additional members may, subject to the foregoing, be appointed from any constituency.

Routing (Include meeting dates)

Consultative Route	Board Chair (and consultation with the Chair of the Board Audit
(parties who have seen the	Committee)
proposal and in what capacity)	
Approval Route (Governance)	Board of Governors November 14, 2012
(including meeting dates)	
Final Approver	Board of Governors

Attachments:

1. Proposed Revised 2012-2013 Board of Governors Committee Membership (1 page) – for approval

Prepared by:

Doug Goss, Board Chair And Deborah Holloway, Board Secretary

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Chair: Vice-Chair: Don Matthew

Gordon Clanachan *Gordon Clanachan (November 22, 2015) *Brian Hesje (June 2013) Shenaz Jeraj Ove Minsos Robert Teskey Dick Wilson

FINANCE & PROPERTY COMMITTEE

Dick Wilson

Chair: Vice-Chair

air Jim Hole Ashlyn Bernier

Gordon Clanachan

Don Fleming *Steven Le Poole (June 2013) Wayne Renke Colten Yamagishi

HUMAN RESOURCES & COMPENSATION COMMITTEE

Chair: Vice-Chair: Robert Teskey Shenaz Jeraj Marc de La Bruyère Don Matthew Dick Wilson

INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

Chair: Vice-Chair:

*Jim Drinkwater (June 30, 2014) *Ken Bancroft (June 30, 2014) *Barbara Belch (June 30, 2013) Gordon Clanachan *Dave Lawson (June 30, 2014)

*Bob Kamp (June 2013)

*Dave Lawson (June 30, 2014) *Allister McPherson (June 30, 2013) *Sandy McPherson (June 30, 2015) Jerry Naqvi

Ex Officio Members on all Board Committees:

Douglas Goss, Board Chair Indira Samarasekera, President Ralph Young, Chancellor

LEARNING AND DISCOVERY COMMITTEE

Chair: Ove Minsos Vice-Chair: Bernd Reuscher Ashlyn Bernier Agnes Hoveland Miodrag (Mike) Belosevic Colten Yamagishi

SAFETY, HEALTH & ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

Chair:	Jim Hole
Vice-Chair:	Ove Minsos
	Kelly Baptista-Wyatt (NASA designate) (June 30, 2013)
	Brent Epperson (GSA designate) (June 30, 2013)
	Brent Kelly
	Wayne Renke
	*Gordon Winkel (June 30, 2013)

UNIVERSITY RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Chair:	Agnes Hoveland
Vice-Chair:	Don Fleming
	Ashlyn Bernier
	*Ross Danyluk (June 30, 2014)
	*Louise Hayes (June 30, 2013)
	Brent Kelly
	Jerry Naqvi
	Miodrag (Mike) Belosevic
	Bernd Reuscher

BOARD REPRESENTATION ON UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES

Senate: Agnes Hoveland, Shenaz Jeraj

Edmonton Community Foundation Nominating Committee: Ove Minsos (effective to December 31, 2013)

* Denotes External Member on a Board Committee