

Board of Governors Open Session Minutes

Friday, December 19, 2014 Electronic Vote

ATTENDEES:

Voting Members:

Shenaz Jeraj

Dick Wilson

Nathan Andrews

Mike Belosevic

David Cooper

Appointed Vice-Chair, General Public

Member, Graduate Students' Association

Member, General Faculties Council

Member, Academic Staff (AASUA)

Jane Halford Member, Alumni

Sangram Hansra Member, Students' Union James Heelan Member, General Public

Barry James Member, Senate

LeRoy Johnson Member, General Public William Lau Member, Students' Union Raymond Muzyka Member, General Public

Robert Parks Member, Alumni

Christopher Pu Member, Non-Academic Staff
Michael H. Ross Member, General Public
Nizar Somji Member, General Public
Robert H. Teskey Member, General Public
Ralph Young Member, Chancellor

Regrets:

Douglas O. Goss Appointed Chair, General Public Lorne Babiuk Vice-President (Research)

Phyllis Clark Vice-President (Finance and Administration)

Marion Haggarty-France University Secretary Brad Hamdon General Counsel

Sangram Hansra Vice-President (Student Life), University of Alberta

Don Hickey Vice-President (Facilities and Operations)
Marcia Lang Senior Strategic Advisor to the President

Steven LePoole Member, General Public

Debra Pozega Osburn Vice-President (University Relations)
Colm Renehan Interim Vice-President (Advancement)

Indira Samarasekera Member, President

Olive Yonge Acting Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Presenter(s):

Douglas O. Goss Chair, Board of Governors

Staff:

Deborah Holloway, Board Secretary and Manager of Board Services

ACTION ITEMS

1. Appointment to Universities Academic Pension Plan Board of Trustees

Presenter(s): Douglas O. Goss

Purpose of the Proposal: Appoint the University of Alberta's representative to the Board of Trustees of the Universities Academic Pension Plan, pursuant to Sections 3.6.and 3.8 of the UAPP Sponsorship and Trust Agreement, to which the University of Alberta is a signatory.

THAT the Board of Governors, on the recommendation of the Board Human Resources and Compensation Committee and the Board Chair, Mr. Douglas Goss, approve the appointment of Ms. Phyllis Clark, Vice-President (Finance and Administration), to the Board of Trustees of the Universities Academic Pension Plan, pursuant to Sections 3.6 and 3.8 of the Universities Academic Pension Plan Sponsorship and Trust Agreement, for a four year term, effective January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2018.

CARRIED