Lisa Collins Mazi Shirvani



Friday, March 14, 2014 2-31 South Academic Building (SAB) 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

OPENING SESSION

1.	Chair's Session	Douglas O. Goss
2.	Call to Order and Confirmation of Quorum	
3.	Approval of Open Session Agenda	
4.	Conflict of Interest - Opportunity for Declaration	
5.	Chair's Remarks	Douglas O. Goss
6.	Presentation by Dr Thomas Thundat, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Oil Sands Molecular Engineering	Thomas Thundat
7.	Report of the President	Indira Samarasekera
8.	President's Report on Progress Against Goals set at Board of Governors Strategic Retreat - Change Agenda (no documents)	Indira Samarasekera
9. 9a.	Approval of the Consent Agenda Approval of the Open Session Minutes of December 13, 2013 Information Reports	Douglas O. Goss
9b.	Report of the Audit Committee	Don Matthew
9c.	Report of the Finance and Property Committee	Dick Wilson
9d. 9e.	Report of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee Report of the Investment Committee	Robert H. Teskey Bob Kamp
9f.	Report of the Learning and Discovery Committee	Shenaz Jeraj
9g.	Report of the University Relations Committee	Don Fleming
_	Regular Reports	_
9h.	Chancellor's Report	Ralph Young
9i.	Alumni Association	Don Fleming Petros Kusmu
9j. 9k.	Students' Union (no document) Graduate Students' Association	Brent Epperson
9l.	Association of Academic Staff	Wayne Renke
9m.	Non-Academic Staff Association	Christopher Pu
9n.	General Faculties Council	Mike Belosevic
90.	Board Chair and Board Members Activity Report	Douglas O. Goss
INFORMATION REPORTS		
10. 10a.	Report of the Board Learning and Discovery Committee Optimizing Student Financial Support and Student Service at the University of Alberta	Shenaz Jeraj Carl Amrhein Britta Baron Frank Robinson

11. Report of the Board Safety, Health and Environment Committee Report of the Board Safety, Health and Environment Committee 11a. Steven LePoole **ACTION ITEMS** 12 Report of the Board Audit Committee Don Matthew Proposed University Records Management Policy Phyllis Clark 12a. Andrea Hare 13. Joint Report of the Board Finance and Property Committee and the Dick Wilson Board Learning and Discovery Committee Shenaz Jerai University of Alberta's Comprehensive Institutional Plan (CIP) (2014) Carl Amrhein 13a. Debra Pozega Osburn 14. Report of the Board Finance and Property Committee Dick Wilson Proposed Changes to Existing Mandatory Student Instructional 14a. Carl Amrhein Support Fees, Proposed New Mandatory Student Instructional Support Phyllis Clark Fees, and Proposed New Non-Instructional Fees 14b. North Campus Sectors Plan - Long Range Development Plan Dick Wilson Amendment Don Hickey 15. Report of the Board Human Resources and Compensation Committee Proposed Changes to the Search and Review Procedures for Robert H. Teskey 15a. President and the Search Procedure for President (Appendix A): Marion Haggarty-France Committee for President Position Definitions and Eligibility (UAPPOL) 15b. Advisory Search Committee for President: Guidelines and Procedures Robert H. Teskey Marion Haggarty-France 16. Report of the Board Chair Committee Appointments Update (documents to be distributed prior to 16a. Douglas O. Goss the meeting) Marion Haggarty-France

REGULAR REPORTS

17. Other Business

18. Board Events: Board of Governors Recognition Dinner, Thursday, May 8, 2014; next Board of Governors meeting, Friday, May 9, 2014.

Presenter(s):

Douglas O. Goss Chair, Board of Governors, Bryan & Company LLP

Ralph Young Chancellor, University of Alberta

Indira Samarasekera President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Alberta Mike Belosevic Member, Board of Governors, University of Alberta

Brent Epperson President, Graduate Students' Association, University of Alberta

Don Fleming Member, Board of Governors Shenaz Jeraj Member, Board of Governors Bob Kamp Professor and Associate Chair, Telus Corporation

Steven LePoole Member, Board of Governors

Don Matthew Member, Board of Governors, KPMG LLP Chartered Accountants

Christopher Pu Member, Board of Governors, University of Alberta Wayne Renke Member, Board of Governors, University of Alberta

Robert H. Teskey Member, Board of Governors
Dick Wilson Member, Board of Governors

Carl Amrhein Provost and Vice-President (Academic), University of Alberta
Phyllis Clark Vice-President (Finance and Administration), University of Alberta
Don Hickey Vice-President (Facilities and Operations), University of Alberta
Vice-President (University Relations), University of Alberta

Marion Haggarty-France University Secretary, University of Alberta

Thomas Thundat Professor, Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Alberta

Britta Baron Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (International), University of

Alberta

Lisa Collins Vice-Provost and University Registrar, University of Alberta

Andrea Hare University Records Officer, University of Alberta

Frank Robinson Vice-Provost and Dean of Students, University of Alberta

Mazi Shirvani Vice-Provost and Dean, University of Alberta

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to: Geeta Sehgal, Assistant Board Secretary, 780-248-2069, gsehgal@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Geeta Sehgal, Assistant Board Secretary

University Governance www.governance.ualberta.ca