

Friday, December 13, 2013 ETLC E6-060 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

## **OPENING SESSION**

1.	<u>Chair's Session</u>	Douglas O. Goss
1.1	Call to Order and Confirmation of Quorum	
1.2	Approval of Open Session Agenda	
1.3	Conflict of Interest - Opportunity for Declaration	
1.4	Chair's Remarks	
1.5	Review of Mandates and Roles document	
1.6	Presentation by Jillian Buriak	
2.	Report of the President	Indira Samarasekera
2.1	Report on Change Agenda	
3.	Approval of the Consent Agenda	
3a.	Approval of the Open Session Minutes of October 18, 2013	
3b1	Report of the Audit Committee	Don Matthew
3b2	Report of the Audit Committee - material that was withdrawn from October agenda	Don Matthew
3b3	Report of the Finance and Property Committee	Dick Wilson
3b4	Report of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee	Robert H. Teskey
3c1	Chancellor's Report	Ralph Young
3c2	Alumni Association	Don Fleming
3c3	Students' Union	Petros Kusmu
3c4	Graduate Students' Association	Brent Epperson
3c5	Association of Academic Staff	Wayne Renke
3c6	Non-Academic Staff Association	Christopher Pu
3c7	General Faculties Council	Mike Belosevic
3c8	Board Chair and Board Members Activity Report	

## **ACTION ITEMS**

4.	Report of the F	Finance and I	Property	Committee
----	-----------------	---------------	----------	-----------

4.1	University of Alberta 2014-15 Tuition Fee Proposal	Phyllis Clark
		Martin Ferguson-Pell
4.2	University of Alberta 2014-2015 Program/Course Differential Fee and	Phyllis Clark
	Market Modifier Fee Proposal	Martin Ferguson-Pell
4.3	University of Alberta 2014-2015 International Tuition Fee Proposal	Phyllis Clark
		Martin Ferguson-Pell
4.4	2014-15 Residence Rate Proposal	Don Hickey
4.5	Proposed Rescinding of UAPPOL Indirect Costs of Research Policy and Creation of New UAPPOL Indirect Costs of Research Procedure	Lorne Babiuk
4.6	Disposition of Land –Utility Corridor, 63 Avenue and 122 Street:	Don Hickey
4.0	Resolution and Order in Council	Don't nokey
4.7	Envision Year 2 Management Borrowing Resolution - Order in Council	Don Hickey
	Required	

## 5. Report of the Board Chair

5.1 Appointment of Board Safety Health and Environment Committee member

Douglas O. Goss

- 6 Report of the Board Human Resources and Compensation Committee
- 6.1 Proposed Changes to the Search and Review Procedures for President and the Search Procedure for President (Appendix A): Committee for President Position Definitions and Eligibility (UAPPOL)

Robert H. Teskey Marion Haggarty-France

## **REGULAR REPORTS**

- 7. Other Business
- 8. Reminder of Board Events

La Bruyere-Eccles-MacLaren Dinner: February 6, 2014; University Budget Briefing: February 7, 2014; Board Members-Only Dinner: March 13, 2014; Next meeting date: Friday, March 14, 2014.

9. <u>Conclusion of Open Session</u>

Presenter(s):

Douglas O. Goss Chair, Board of Governors, Bryan & Company LLP Indira Samarasekera President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Alberta

Don Matthew Member, Board of Governors, KPMG LLP Chartered Accountants

Dick Wilson Member, Board of Governors

Robert H. Teskey Member, Board of Governors

Ralph Young Chancellor, University of Alberta

Don Fleming Member, Board of Governors

Petros Kusmu President, Students' Union, University of Alberta

Brent Epperson President, Graduate Students' Association, University of Alberta

Wayne Renke Member, Board of Governors, University of Alberta
Christopher Pu Member, Board of Governors, University of Alberta
Mike Belosevic Member, Board of Governors, University of Alberta

Phyllis Clark Vice-President (Finance and Administration), University of Alberta

Martin Ferguson-Pell Acting Provost and Vice-President (Academic), University of Alberta

Lorne Babiuk Vice-President (Research), University of Alberta

Marion Haggarty-France University Secretary, University of Alberta

Doug Dawson Executive Director, Ancillary Services

Len Sereda Director, Facilities & Operations Sustainability

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to: Geeta Sehgal, Acting Assistant Board Secretary, 780-248-2069,

geeta.sehgal@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Geeta Sehgal, Acting Assistant Board Secretary

University Governance <u>www.governance.ualberta.ca</u>