Gordon Clanachan



Friday, June 15, 2012 Council Chamber, 2-1 University Hall 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon

OPENING SESSION Presenter(s) 1. Chair's Session **Douglas Goss** 1.1. Call to Order and Confirmation of Quorum 1.2. Approval of Open Session Agenda Conflict of Interest - Opportunity for Declaration related to Agenda 1.3. 1.4. Chair's Remarks Presentation on China Carl Amrhein Cen Huang 2. Report of the President Carl Amrhein 2.1. Presentation on the National Institute for Nanotechnology (NINT) Marie D'Iorio 3. Approval of the Public Session Minutes of: **Douglas Goss** May 11, 2012 June 4, 2012

ACTION ITEMS

Report of the Finance and Property Committee

4.

4.1.	Rescission of Facilities and Operations Management Policy	Don Hickey
5. 5.1.	Report of the University Relations Committee University of Alberta 2011-12 Annual Report for submission to the Governmen of Alberta	Agnes Hoveland t Phyllis Clark
5.2.	Donations Acceptance Policy Suite in UAPPOL	O'Neil Outar
6.	Report of the Board Chair	Douglas Goss
6.1.	Committee Appointments	Douglas Goss Marion Haggarty-France

INFORMATION REPORTS

	<u> </u>	
7.	Report of the Investment Committee	Bob Kamp
7.1.	Report of the Investment Committee to the Board of Governors for the Year Ending March 31, 2012	Bob Kamp Ron Ritter
8.	Report of the Audit Committee	Don Matthew
8.1.	Current Accounting and Financial Reporting Issues (including Changes in Accounting Standards)	
8.2.	Report on Joint Ventures and Other Entities	
8.3.	Review of Executive Travel	
8.4.	Presentation on Cost Containment	
8.5.	Travel Demand Management Program	
8.6.	University of Alberta Annual Report (Financials only)	

8.7. Update on Risk-Based Internal Audit Plan Auditor General's Report to the Audit Committee for the Year Ended March 31. 8.8. 2012 8.9. IT Governance Steering Committee 9. Report of the Finance and Property Committee Gordon Clanachan 9.1. Balmoral - Supplemental Capital Expenditure Authorization Request Annual Report on Donations and Gifts 9.2. 9.3. Project Management Office Status Report Ancillaries 101 9.4. 10. Report of the Safety, Health and Environment Committee Jim Hole 10.1. Safety Moment 10.2. Comments from the Vice-President (Finance and Administration) Risk Management Services Plan 2011-2015 and Highlights of 2011-12 10.3. Environmental Health & Safety 2011-2012 Consolidated Annual Report 10.4. 10.5. University of Alberta Protective Services (UAPS) 2011 Annual Report Peace Officer Program Review 10.6. 10.7. Health and Safety Indicator Report 11. Report of the University Relations Committee Agnes Hoveland 11.1. University Relations Report University Philanthropy and Advancement Update 11.2. 11.3. Naming Policy: Review of Current Components and Upcoming Changes 11.4. Alumni Affairs Name Change **REGULAR REPORTS** 12.1. Chancellor's Report (no report) Ralph Young 12.2. Alumni Association Don Flemina Jim Hole 12.3. Students' Union Colten Yamagishi Graduate Students' Association 12.4. Ashlyn Bernier 12.5. Association of Academic Staff of the University of Alberta Robert Campenot Non-Academic Staff Association 12.6. Tanya Martelle 12.7. **General Faculties Council** Louis Hugo Francescutti 13. Report of the Board Chair **Douglas Goss** 14. Other Business **Douglas Goss** 15. Reminder of Board Events **Douglas Goss** 2012-2013 Board of Governors Meeting Schedule Next meeting date: Friday, October 19, 2012 16. Conclusion of Public Session

Presenters:

Carl Amrhein Acting President

Ashlyn Bernier President, University of Alberta Graduate Students' Association

Robert Campenot Association of Academic Staff Representative on the Board of Governors

Gordon Clanachan Chair, Board Finance and Property Committee Phyllis Clark Vice-President (Finance and Administration)

Marie D'Iorio Director General, National Institute for Nanotechnology (NINT)

Don Fleming Alumni Representative on the Board of Governors

Louis Hugo Francescutti General Faculties Council Representative on the Board of Governors

Douglas Goss Chair, Board of Governors
Marion Haggarty-France University Secretary

Don Hickey Vice-President (Facilities and Operations)

Jim Hole Chair, Board Safety, Health and Environment Committee

Alumni Representative on the Board of Governors

Agnes Hoveland Chair, Board University Relations Committee

Cen Huang Director, International Relations and Recruitment, University of Alberta

International

Bob Kamp Chair, Board Investment Committee

Marc de La Bruyère Chair, Board Human Resources and Compensation Committee

Tanya Martelle Non-Academic Support Staff Representative on the Board of Governors

Don Matthew Chair, Board Audit Committee O'Neil Outar Chief Advancement Officer

Ron Ritter Director, Investments and Treasury (Financial Services)

Colten Yamagishi President, University of Alberta Students' Union

Ralph Young Chancellor

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to: Juli Zinken, Assistant Board Secretary, 780-492-4715, juli.zinken@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Juli Zinken, Assistant Board Secretary

Sent to members: June 8, 2012

University Governance: http://www.uofaweb.ualberta.ca/governance/