

Monday, June 15, 2020 Virtual Meeting 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

#### **OPENING SESSION**

Approval of the Agenda
 David Turpin

Comments from the ChairReport on For the Public Good

# CONSENT AGENDA

[If a member has a question or feels that an item should be discussed, they should notify the Secretary to GFC, in writing, two business days or more in advance of the meeting so that the relevant expert can be invited to attend.]

- 3. A. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of May 4, 2020
  - B. Approval of the Open Session Minutes of May 11, 2020

## **ACTION ITEMS**

Proposed Changes to Education Faculty Council Composition and Quorum
 Lynn McGarvey

Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority

5. Final Report of GFC Executive's Transition Committee Eleni Stroulia

Motion: To Recommend to General Faculties Council

#### **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

6. Update GFC Membership Reapportionment Yimmie Sonuga

7. Building Capacity in the Graduate Student Experience, Graduate Student Success, and Excellence in the Graduate Student-Supervisory Relationship

8. Upcoming Considerations (no documents) David Turpin

9. Academic Governance Emergency Protocols (Standing Item) David Turpin

A. COVID-19 Governance Decision Tracker

B. Fall 2020 / Winter 2021 Planning Overview Steven Dew Andrew Sharman

10. University of Alberta for Tomorrow (UAT) Bill Flanagan

Steven Dew Gitta Kulczycki

11. Question Period David Turpin

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

12. Draft Agenda for the Next Meeting of General Faculties Council

**David Turpin** 

Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority

## **INFORMATION REPORTS**

- 13. Items Approved by the GFC Executive Committee by email ballots (no items to date)
- 14. Information Items Forwarded to GFC Executive Committee between Meetings (no items to date)

# **CLOSING SESSION**

15. Next Meeting: September 14, 2020

16. Next General Faculties Council Meeting: June 22, 2020

Presenter(s):

David Turpin President and Vice-Chancellor, Chair of GFC Executive Committee

Lynn McGarvey Vice Dean, Faculty of Education

Eleni Stroulia Chair of GFC Executive's Transition Committee

Brooke Milne Vice-Provost and Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research

Yimmie Sonuga Secretary to GFC and Manager of GFC Services

Steven Dew Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Andrew Sharman Vice-President (Facilities and Operations)

Bill Flanagan President-elect

Gitta Kulczycki Vice-President (Finance and Administration)

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to: Heather Richholt, 780-492-1937, richholt@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Yimmie Sonuga, GFC Secretary University Governance www.governance.ualberta.ca